top of page

Get Out of the Bed! (Dear Wednesday)

We are now entering mid-August!! Can you believe 2019 is at this point? Take a moment today to think about where you are and where you want to be.

Our theme for August is: TAKE ACTION. Join us Thursday on FB @challenge.courage for our August Life Lessons series - Pt. 2 - 7:30p.m. Eastern.


 

Dear Wednesday,


Have you ever been lying in bed, so comfortable that you did not want to move? The alarm goes off and you snooze... just a few more minutes in my "comfortable place".


Has this ever happened to you? Well, I have definitely done it a few times.


But what happens when you hit snooze on your life? Your goals? Your purpose and aspirations? What happens when you become so overwhelmed with the everyday STUFF that you hit "coast".... and before you know it, 5 years have passed and you are left wondering what happened!


Years ago, I decided I wanted to obtain my masters degree. I was not completely sure which subject to study, but I knew there were steps I needed to take in order to fulfill this part of my purpose.


Each year I waited to get a green light, a sign to tell me YES, you can start now. Year after year passed and I was still waiting, until I reached a point in my life where I had to move.

I was financially dependent on my family and quickly going no where. I became so frustrated with my lack of progress that a sadness began to set in.


I was soo unhappy and discouraged.


One day, I reached the point of no return. It was time. I had to move forward. To give you some context here, I had been in the same place for about 6 years. It was a comfortable and familiar place.


alarm clock

"The funny thing is, even agony can feel comforting when you allow fear dominate your thinking"


The thought of leaving was terrifying! What will I do? What if I fail?


So, year after year I just stuck it out hoping that a door would open so I wouldn't have to leave the warmth and comfort of my present situation. That is where we go wrong. We want to stay in the comfort or our goose down blanket and our fluffy pillow.


But then, Life or shall I say "Purpose" begins to call.


So I found myself in a place where purpose (just like our alarm clocks) began to call and I knew a choice had to be made. Will I stay in my comfortable place where I am used to or will I take a step in to the unknown trusting that my steps will be guided towards my purpose...


I decided to take action and a year later I found myself working towards a masters degree and financially independent but NOT STAGNANT.

Do not allow yourself to fall in to the trap of comfort. Trust me, it is not a safe place.

The bed feels great until you realize how many hours you have wasted in it.


So for all of you out there who are in a place of stagnancy, I dare you to challenge yourself with a goal. Start cooking at home, do a 10 minute workout from you tube, apply for that certification you have always wanted, go to therapy for that thing that has been plaguing you, whatever you do KEEP MOVING! Your life is worth living Engaged.


I will see you on the road of purpose,


Ashley


 

Please register for our "Dear Wednesday Life" website, where you can join in the fun exclusively with comments, lifestyle notes and more. Join us over at "That Dear Wednesday Life" right here.


DWL Lifestyle Strategists Weekly Favs

Ashley's fav is the sturdy and reliable, Toaster Oven. Grab it here! She says: "Yes, I love my toaster oven! I was able to warm up my food and it tasted like it was fresh out of the oven. I can even COOK in it... YASSSS. It was one of the best gifts I could have gotten for my housewarming. Y’all better get one!"


Joy loves bright, asymmetrical dresses... and lately she's been feeling the Minibee Cotton Women's African print dress which is great to transition from work, to happy hour, to a date. Grab yours here.


Patrice loves grocery pick-up! She says: "My favorite thing right now has been grocery pick up services. During this busy transition season, it can be easy for me to grab take out because I am tired or experiencing soreness. But with grocery pick up services, I can order the things on my shopping list, pay online and have them put into my car by a store associate during a designated time of my choosing. This helps encourage me to prepare healthier options due to increased access and saves me money by reducing frivolous store purchase. I also save the time associated with walking around the grocery store and waiting on one of two cashiers in a busy store. Food lion is one of my top picks! Check to see if pick up is available in you area at https://www.foodlion.com/promotions/to-go/. You can also try Walmart, Publix or Kroger for food pickup service options in select areas"


 

Follow us at @challenge.courage on FB and Instagram.

Email us at Challengeyoself@gmail.com.

Join the premier University for women who are ready to define their lives for themselves - Joy University.


"I'm a Hot Mess: Now What" The Premier Signature Masterclass is out now and if you aren't enrolled yet, reply and let's get you in now - Let me check it out!


Until next time, Be good to yourself and others!

Evaluate your relationships!

Check your thought life!

And, invest in opportunities that increase your quality of life.


Brought to you by Ashley, Joy and Patrice, your DWL Lifestyle Strategists


 

This Dear Wednesday Letter was hand-crafted by Ashley Marcel. Ashley Marcel is a lover of people, daughter of God and Public Health advocate. Currently Ashley is working with students in the medical and dental fields who provide service to the underserved regions in her area. At the same time, she is studying Public Health at Capella University with the goal of working in the area of research. As a member of the Challenge.Courage team, part of Ashley’s purpose is to help women live fuller, more abundant lives through mentoring, encouragement and health promotion.

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page